Entry Nine: Short-term Memory Loss

So, Emerson came home today. . .

I haven’t kept a secret from him in FOREVER, so I don’t know how long I’ll last up against his interrogation. But, let’s not think about that right now. . .

Have I ever told you about the time I lost my memory?

Yeah, I know. “How can you possibly have so MANY dramatic events in your life?!” I don’t know! I guess God is toying with me. Anyway, back to my story.

So, we have to go back to the time when I was a slave and before I married Emerson. Emerson was at the plantation where I lived, but I was disguised when he arrived. I didn’t want anyone to know that I was a slave because my master could’ve gotten in trouble for having me as his slave. So, I was made up to look like a wealthy daughter of the plantation owner.

I ended up spending the entire day with Emerson and I even fell head over heels for him, but I tried to stay distant so I wouldn’t get too attached to him.

I didn’t think I was good enough for him. And, I knew that he was trying to bring my master to justice, so I didn’t want him to find out the truth. . . That night, he confessed his love for me, but I ran away.

The next morning, Emerson found my old mistress and I immediately knew that she had recognized me, and that my secret would be out, so I ran away.

I ran away from the plantation, Emerson, and myself. As, I began to leave, my fellow slaves helped me escape, but I was given the task of smuggling a runaway slave’s baby out of the plantation.

I took them up on the opportunity, and now that baby is my daughter. . .

Okay, back to the story.

So, I made it off the plantation without anyone finding me. However, the next day, Emerson along with my master, caught up to me and the baby. And, I feared for Angel’s life. I really did, so instead of letting them catch me, I decided to take a risky path in the mountains.

That is where I made my first mistake.

My second mistake was when I ignored the horse’s warning balk.

Just moments later, my horse threw me and Angel off, which led to my head cracking on a rock, and a temporary memory loss followed.

Yep. That was just the start of my crazy adventure. . .

I hear someone coming! I got to go!

Stay tuned for my next post. . .

With Love,

Pierson ♥

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started